Never Buy 100 Calorie Packs Again…

5 Jan

Since I have started eating healthier (and watching my portion sizes) I came up with this idea….make my own 100 calorie packs! Yes, it’s  conveinent to buy a box at your grocery store, but did you know that it is SO much cheaper if you buy the actual product and make your own? Besides being much cheaper, the possibilities on snacks are endless. To make mine I headed to the Dollar Store (if you haven’t yet caught on, I love that place) and got a couple boxes of ziploc sandwich bags, blank white labels, and a big plastic bin.

When I make mine, most of the time I just go by the serving size on the package, but sometimes I do a little math (and change the serving size) to make a true “100 calorie pack”. On each label I write the calories on the left of the label, and the serving size on the right. Since I often have the same snacks on hand, I re-use most of the ziploc bags & refill a couple times before throwing them away.

When I am done bagging the snack up, I cut off the barcode on the packaging and tape onto a piece of paper with the name of the snack written next to it. By keeping the barcode, I can still scan it with the My Fitness Pal app I use to track my daily calories. You just want to make sure that if you change the serving size from what the actual label says that you change it when entering into the app, that is why I always write the calories and serving size on the label of the snack itself.

Some of my favorite snacks to have on hand are reduced fat wheat thins, cinnamon sugar popcorn indiana popcorn, kashi go lean granola, and almonds.

Do you have any special tricks that you use to keep your portion sizes under control? I would love to hear them!

5 Responses to “Never Buy 100 Calorie Packs Again…”

  1. Melanie January 6, 2012 at 2:51 AM #

    I have just started using my fitness pal as well, it’s pretty good but I have no self control. This is actually a really good idea so thanks for sharing 🙂

    • The Fabulously Modest Life January 6, 2012 at 3:07 AM #

      I have terrible problems with portions, so as soon as I get back from grocery shopping I always divide everything up into servings otherwise I would probably eat 3-4 servings in a sitting! Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  2. bergiepowers January 6, 2012 at 8:39 PM #

    Such and awesome idea! I love that you re-use the baggies when refilling with the same snack. That makes so much sense, saving money and calories!

  3. couponingintherealworld January 8, 2012 at 8:34 PM #

    Very well written! I use to do this when my husband was diagnosed with diabetes, now I’m working hard at losing weight. Thanks for the reminder and inspiration to start doing this again! Also thanks for linking to the my fitness pal, I’ve never heard of it but am checking it out right now!

    • The Fabulously Modest Life January 8, 2012 at 9:41 PM #

      Let me know how you like My Fitness Pal, I love it! I love the recipe feature where you can enter in all the ingredients and it will calculate calories and servings. Great little tool!

Leave a Reply

